Filibuster CCG set

From Dvorak - A Blank-Card Game
Jump to: navigation, search
Filibuster CCG set
Designer Drock
Date June 1, 2012
Players 2+
This is a CCG set, a set of cards which can be used to construct personalised decks, in the style of a collectable card game.
To play Dvorak: Draw five cards each and leave the rest as a draw pile. On your turn, draw a card from the draw pile and play one Thing and/or one Action. (See the full rules.)
Cards.gif Print this deck

Telnet.gif Generate MUSHcode
Cards.gif Generate Lackey export
Mtgcard.gif Generate Apprentice CSV

Padlock.gif
This deck is locked. Further cards should not be added - leave feedback on the talk page.

Rules

Victory

The first player to get 200 points wins. All players begin the game with 0 points. Points are awarded to and taken away from players under certain conditions. There are no "negative points" -- if a player would have less than 0 points for any reason, his or her point total would simply stay at 0.

Cards

There are 3 types of card in Filibuster:

Campaigns: Gameplay consists of rounds called campaigns (see Campaigns below). To start a campaign, a Campaign Card must be played. Without a Campaign Card, the campaign cannot proceed.

Gambits: Gambits are cards that are stacked on top of a Campaign Card, having an immediate effect while on the stack. In response to a Gambit being played, any player can stack a Gambit of their own. Once all Gambits have been stacked, their effects are resolved from the top down. After resolving, Gambits are destroyed (sent to the discard pile).

Constants: Constants are cards that are not played on a stack, but come into play on your field outside of the stack. They stay in play for the duration of the game or until they are destroyed by another card. Gambits can be played in response to Constants.

Card Values

At the top right-hand corner of every card is a box with a number in it. That number is that card's value. Values are most commonly used for stacking Gambits (see Main Step under Campaigns below). Values are also used during filibusters (See Filibustering below).

Campaigns

Filibuster gameplay is made up of rounds called campaigns. Campaigns are made up of 4 steps, which go in this order:

Roll Step: All players roll their dice. Whoever's dice have the highest total face value is that campaign's pitcher. All players draw 5 cards.

Beginning Step: The pitcher must play a Campaign Card if able. If he or she can't play a Campaign Card, the player with the next-highest dice value must play a Campaign Card if able and become the new pitcher. If no players can play a Campaign Card, the campaign dies and all players shuffle their hands into their decks and start a new campaign. Once a Campaign Card is played, the pitcher can play one Constant.

Main Step: The pitcher can then stack a Gambit on top of the Campaign Card, if able. Other players may respond to this Gambit by stacking Gambits of their own. A Gambit can only be stacked upon a Gambit of equal or lesser value. Otherwise the Gambit fizzles -- gets destroyed immediately without taking effect. Once all Gambits for this turn have been stacked, the Gambits resolve (come into effect) from the top of the stack to the bottom of the stack.

End Step: The pitcher gains 10 points. A new campaign begins.

Filibustering

At the beginning of any step during a campaign except the roll step, if you are not the pitcher, you can filibuster the pitcher. During a filibuster, you and the pitcher simultaneously reveal a card from your respective hands. If your card's value is equal to or lesser than the pitcher's card's value, the filibuster fails and you lose 10 points and must discard the card you filibustered with. However, if your card's value is higher than the pitcher's card's value, the filibuster succeeds -- you become the pitcher for the remainder of the campaign and both you and the former pitcher must discard the cards you filibustered with.

The former pitcher can counter a successful filibuster by revealing another card with a higher value than the card you just played. You may respond to this counter by also revealing a second card. If your card's value is equal to or lesser than the pitcher's card's value, the former pitcher becomes the pitcher again and you must discard both cards you filibustered with. However, if your card's value is higher than the pitcher's card's value, you remain the pitcher and the former pitcher loses 20 points. Both of you must discard the cards you used to filibuster with.